Atheistic Faith?

This one has been bugging me for a while and having been a Christian from a young age and not recalling a time in my life where God wasn’t a big part of it I’ve no personal experience to draw on here:

Atheism is a belief that there is no god. Presumably the individual has to have some concept or definition of this god that doesn’t exist? Either that or they believe that there are no spiritual beings at all which strikes me as a huge step of faith. It’s a choice to reject the major teachings of almost every established religion throughout history and the beliefs and experiences of billions of people.

If that’s your belief then that’s fine, just stop trying to justify it as a neutral faith position and accept it for what it is. Just as Atheism isn’t a neutral position (I don’t think that such a thing could exist…) neither is secularism. But that’s a rant for another day…

2 thoughts on “Atheistic Faith?

  1. “Atheism is a belief that there is no god.”

    Actually it’s the lack of belief in a god or gods. The difference is subtle, but it’s there.

    “Presumably the individual has to have some concept or definition of this god that doesn’t exist? ”

    Not really. The job of defining gods is up to the people who believe in them. An atheist is essentially saying that they do not believe in every god that has been, to that point, defined for them and/or explained to them. If you have a new one, by all means bring it forward.

    “Either that or they believe that there are no spiritual beings at all which strikes me as a huge step of faith.”

    Again, it’s lack of belief in these things. Because the evidence for them just isn’t there. No faith required. Just following where the evidence leads…or doesn’t lead, in this case.

    “It’s a choice to reject the major teachings of almost every established religion throughout history and the beliefs and experiences of billions of people.”

    A few things wrong here.

    One: it’s not a choice. At least not for me. I didn’t choose to become an atheist. I may have chosen whether or not to live my life based on faith or evidence, but even that wasn’t really a choice so much as an acceptance of what seems to be the smarter of the two options. I can’t choose to believe in a god. I can be convinced if there is evidence, but I can’t choose it.

    Two: I can pick and choose whatever teachings I want from the major religions of the world. I don’t have to throw them all out. I just pick the ones that make sense on their own or for different reasons than the religions give(like ‘don’t kill’, for example). And the teachings that don’t make sense or I think are evil just get thrown out.

    Three: the beliefs of billions of people do not matter if there isn’t evidence to back them up. The number of people who believe something does not serve as evidence of that thing. It only means that it’s popular, not necessarily true.

    In the future, if you’re confused about atheism, feel free to ask an atheist. There are plenty of us around, and I’d say a good number of us are even polite. 🙂

Leave a Reply

